Student mobility

Graduation requires acquiring a total of 120 ECTS. Every student spends an academic year, two consecutive semesters, at two institutions of the consortium and earns 60 ECTS credits (or more) at each institution. If wished by the student, the consortium frequently supports a third mobility phase during the second year to conduct a master's thesis anywhere in the consortium.

Due to the binding definition of a core program no formal restrictions exist regarding the possible choices and the order of institutions within the consortium. This choice will only be influenced by the individual student's interest and partner profiles. An exception exists, however, for students from the consortium partner countries, Germany, Italy, Norway and the United Kingdom.

Students who have received their last degree in one of the consortium partner countries cannot receive a scholarship for studying EMECS in the same country. They must spend at least two study periods in two of the other partner countries. For example, a student who has received a bachelor's degree in Norway can receive a scholarship if he/she pursues the EMECS program at University of Southampton and University of Kaiserslautern.

Applicants can express their mobility preferences in the application form. The consortium will attempt to respect these wishes but may also have to make adjustments for a balanced distribution of students. Each mobility stage will start with an orientation phase that includes a language course in Germany and Norway.

Students choosing mobility between partners TUK, NTNU and UoS will receive a joint degree issued by all three partner universities. The consortium is currently extended to the new partner POLITO. Students including POLITO into their mobility scheme will receive a double degree from POLITO and a second EMECS university, as chosen by the student's mobility path.